I don’t have time, I make time

So ever since I started using this blog, dozens of people have contacted me telling me what a good job I have done, how amazing Sherrin is, and asking what they can do to help.

Here’s what you can do: go see her.

I made this website so that Sherrin would stay relevant. I did this so that people would not forget about my sister. Yes, it is awesome when people tell me that they’ve been praying for my family and thinking of Sherrin often, but at the end of the day Sherrin doesn’t know who still thinks of her or who has forgotten about her. Sherrin spends the majority of her time either with my mom, my dad, me, or one of the nurses or doctors. She’s only seen a handful of other people since October, and that is heartbreaking to me.

I can come up with dozens of excuses not to see her. I’m a full-time student, I need to study, I have sorority stuff, I’m sick, I need to see my boyfriend, I’m a babysitter, and I’m tired. I can go on and on about how I’m too busy not to make the trek up to New Jersey, but the bottom line is if I’m not there, then Sherrin doesn’t get to see me, and she gets lonelier and lonelier. I can’t let her lose hope.

I made this website so that I knew people wouldn’t forget about Sherrin, but more importantly, Sherrin needs to know that people won’t forget about Sherrin.

The majority of people reading this are from the DC area. It’s a 4 hour trip to get up to the hospital, easily a day trip if you take a bus or a train. I would be thrilled to carpool with people up there (I am going next weekend for those that are interested) or pick people up from the train or bus station.

Do it for Sherrin.

As far as her health, here is the latest update:

Today she has said multiple full sentences such as, “How are you?” “Where is dad?” “Can we call Kaci?” Her arms are becoming a lot more limber as well. For those of you that don’t know, TBI victims often have stiffness in their muscles. Our biggest problem has been Sherrin’s arms, specifically her wrists. Her wrists are very tense and she normally keeps her hands in a fist while bending her wrists forward. We have done multiple strategies to get her wrists to move, such as casting them, Botox injections, and a baclofen pump. The baclofen pump is a muscle relaxer that was placed into her spine in December. The actual pump is in the spine while the cord is wrapped around her right side (you can see the metal through her skin- super eerie). It releases the muscle relaxer every so often so that her limberness can come back. The doctors told us if it didn’t work, then the only other alternative would be a surgery in her wrists where they would have to cut her tendons and tie them back so it would bring her wrists up- a very painful surgery. Luckily, the baclofen has been doing it’s job.

Example of how Sherrin's wrists are tense and bend forward.

Example of how Sherrin’s wrists are tense and bend forward.

We have also been battling with Kessler about when Sherrin will be kicked out. She is going on 6 months of being at this hospital, one of the longest patients there, and the doctors want her out. What will probably happen in the next few months is that Sherrin will become an out-patient at one of the other Kessler facilities in New Jersey. She would still do all of her therapies every day, but would come home at the end of each day. This would also mean that my parents would have to find a one-story home in New Jersey so that Sherrin can move around in her wheelchair. This is not official yet, just something that we must face and deal with within the next few months.

If you are interested in contacting me about Sherrin, please free to contact me through one of the following:

Phone/Text: 703-728-7143

Email: kb8896a@american.edu

Hospital address: Sherrin Baggott

Room 3028, 1199 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052

Sherrin and me when we were little :)

Sherrin and me when we were little 🙂

Keep fighting sissy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

