Getting started

My name is Kaci Baggott. I am the sister of Sherrin Baggott, a severe traumatic brain injury victim. Sherrin was in a car accident on May 13, 2012 and has been recovering ever since. Sherrin’s story is a miracle and I feel the need to share it before everyone else forgets. I will be posting her progress, pictures, videos, and updates on this website.

Most updated progress on Sherrin:

Sherrin is still an in-patient at Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation in West Orange, NJ since late September 2012. My mother, Careen Baggott, lives in a residential hotel in West Orange where she helps with Sherrin’s therapy from 8 am-8 pm Monday-Friday. My father, John Baggott, travels from Northern Virginia (where our home is) in order to continue his job  during the week and travels to KIR on weekends to take care of Sherrin from 8 am-8 pm, allowing my mother a break from the hospital. I am a junior at American University and only am able to visit Sherrin and my mom every few weekends and school breaks but do visit every single chance I get.

Sherrin is conscious and improves in her therapy all of the time. Recently, she has been able to swallow foods like apple sauce and ice chips. She is able to say a few words at a time but still struggles with getting her body to cooperate.

My father has done an amazing job on keeping a journal of Sherrin’s progress. Once I can get him to send me his notes, I will post those on this website as well.

Sherrin is a miracle.

Sherrin and I.

Sherrin and I.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Getting started

  1. jo says:

    Kari, thank you for sharing Sherrin’s story and thank you Kari Diviney. I am praying for a complete recovery for your sister.

  2. jo says:

    Kaci, sorry for the typo.

  3. Darcy Whitsett says:

    Kaci, this will continue to be an amazing story. My love to your family.

  4. Tammy Walther says:

    Kaci, thanks for sharing this website. You continue to amaze me. Praying for you and your family, and thanking God for giving you the strength and the huge capacity to love.

  5. Dennis Collins says:

    Kaci, I hope you can continue to keep everyone up to date. Sherrin and your whole family are in our prayers..

  6. Darryle Conway says:

    Kaci,

    I have worked with your father, he will not give up. Obviously this runs the family. I will continue to pray for your amazing family. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

